Lessons in Marketing

5 08 2007

Today I was reminded of how small the library online community is, and how important it is to plan for the unexpected.

My friend, Lea, and fellow co-director of the Student Association of the School of Information at UT, took some photos of a new shirt designed by a recent graduate of our program. The design is called Evolution of a Librarian:

Informationus Primatus, represented by a gorilla with a pair of reading glasses; Informationus Scriptor, represented by a medieval scholar scribbling away with a quill; Informationus Shushimus, represented by a female librarian with a bun, busily shushing patrons; and the final evolution: Informationus Professionus, represented by a young female librarian in jeans and an Antelope/information? tee (see below), carrying a laptop, a book, and listening to an ipod.

She posted the photos on her flickr page so I could grab them easily to put up on our our blog. SASI has been printing shirts for as long as anyone can remember as a way to get funding from the Graduate School Assembly (GSA) and the Student Senate, that we can turn around and sell at a small profit in order to support student activities and community-building. I had intended to get the photos up sometime this weekend (or maybe next) and then send an email out to our school’s listserv to let students know they were available and when/where they could buy them.

But this morning when I woke up and checked my RSS reader, I found that Library Stuff had linked to her photo of our newest shirt design. We had always dreamed of coming up with cool shirts that we could sell to the library/information science community at large to support our school activities, and here was opportunity staring us in the face, and I didn’t even have a site set up yet! Worse, when I tried to log on to the iSchool servers, I couldn’t gain access. I couldn’t get on to the servers until a half hour ago (finally got the support site up here at SASI Swag). But even without that, we didn’t have any way of accepting payment. We hadn’t set up a paypal account and had only ever taken cash and checks in the past. We didn’t even know what to charge for shipping.

This entire experience was a great learning process for me. Technology failed us, and we failed to plan for a big enough response to our idea. This was a small glitch, something easily fixed, but we were franticly emailing and im-ing eachother and the iSchool technology folks trying to get our site back up, and figure out what to do in the meantime.

I wonder how much worse it would be for the library who fails to make arrangements for the unanticipated… I hope I’ve learned my lesson on this front.

Actions

Information

5 responses

5 08 2007
Library Stuff » Blog Archives » Librar* Marketing

[…] Library Nation – “Today I was reminded of how small the library online community is, and how important it is to plan for the unexpected.” […]

5 08 2007
Steven M. Cohen

Sorry about that. I didn’t realize that I could still do that? I hope you get lots of orders.

5 08 2007
librarynation

Hey Steven, It’s totally fine! We needed a fire lit under us on this one and you provided it… you deserve thanks!

8 08 2007
Christina Pikas

so instead of getting slash dotted you got library stuffed :)

8 08 2007
librarynation

@ Christina… I totally did!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

