Workaholic Librarian

30 05 2007

Being new to the profession of librarianship, I feel like I need to play catch up with everything that happened before. I want to read about everything my predecessors did to pave the way so I can understand where they’re coming from and learn from mistakes and successes.

As I sift through information, trying to keep up with everything new, and also trying to systematically absorb everything that’s happened in the last 10 years of wired librarianship, I’m constantly daunted by the sheer volume of information I’m contending with. Even with all my tools and systems to keep everything straight, I cannot hope to meaningfully comprehend everything we’ve been doing for the past 10 years. I had to sit down and think about where I was headed with my endless gathering of information when I read The Shifted Librarian this afternoon saying we don’t have to be SuperLibrarians by day and SuperBloggers by night.

I realized I was trying to do too much this weekend when my partner, Don, had to drag me out to spend time in the beautiful sunshine…I realized quite suddenly that I’d become a workaholic. Having a career that I love, that I’m truly interested in learning more about, combined with the saintly feeling I get for working for an essentially nonprofit company as a public servant is a dangerous mix. It’s very easy to get confused about what is “hobby” and what is “work.”

So I’m learning how to take a break. I didn’t open the computer at all this morning and didn’t check email til I got to work! It felt like a big accomplishment. I did accept an invitation to contribute to another blog, Library Angst, this afternoon. But there are two other bloggers there and there isn’t as much pressure to post daily or every-other-day. I think it will be doable.

I just need to remember to close the computer and go outside every once an a while.

Apparently, I’m not the only one. Check out the comments section of the Shifted Librarian’s entry, and these non-library related blogs:

Actions

Information

3 responses

31 05 2007
Amy

I have tagged you for the 8 Things Meme – see here.

Amy 🙂

1 06 2007
John Klima

Now the trickthing is to convince a few more librarians to join our blog so there’s even LESS pressure to post.

As long as we all don’t feel that way…

Glad to have you aboard!

John Klima

1 06 2007
librarynation

I was wondering when I was going to get a *nudge* since I hadn’t posted at Library Angst yet 😉

I’m workin’ on it! I do need to go outside today at some point.

Leave a Reply

