The Big One

26 07 2007

Yesterday, I received my very own copy of Robin Hood Marketing, which I won free by being the first commenter to request a copy on Sybil’s Quality Service Marketing Blog a few weeks back (I guess the early bird does get the worm!). Thanks Katya and Sybil!

Although I initially checked the book out through ILL, I knew by page three that this was a book I wanted to write all over, so I was thrilled when the QSM Blog gave away a copy.

It will come in very handy in my huge impending multi-semester(multi-year?) project. I haven’t talked about it here yet (although it is more than relevant) because I need to organize my thoughts on it in a more logical way. The whole process is bigger than anything I’ve ever attempted before, and involves so many more people than just myself.

I’ve learned over the years that I am fairly controlling… I love it when delegation works, and I love watching my teammates succeed, but sometimes it just seems easier (and safer) to do things myself. I really have to watch myself here because I know that this could lead to overly-controlling, dominating behavior that crushes the creativity and input of others. I’m glad I was made aware of it early on while I can try and redirect those impulses in a more positive direction.

When all is said and done, this project will be about marketing, PR, advocacy, and fundraising, and it will also require marketing, PR, advocacy, and fundraising. It will involve professors, students, librarians, lobbyists, marketers, community advocacy groups, friends groups, big libraries, little libraries, and every library supporter who wants to participate. Heck, even ALA can pitch in if they want.

I’ve got to get this plan drawn up in the next 48 hours, so I’ll end the suspense then. But I’ll be needing all the help y’all are willing to give!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

